Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Mapping Alcatraz: The story behind the scans

June 27 @ 1:00 am UTC+10

The World’s Most Complete Digital Twin of Alcatraz

The US island prison Alcatraz is a unique environment. The rugged 22.5-acre site of the notorious jail has now been digitally captured in unprecedented 3D detail, involving a world-leading project deploying multiple mapping technologies.

Having camped in the jail’s infamous cells for three weeks during the cold San Francisco winter, team member Dr Jeremy Sofonia, Emesent’s Field Applications Manager, tells us the full story behind this significant endeavor.

What we will be covering:

• The factors that make Alcatraz such a difficult place to map.
• How Emesent approached the challenges of capturing such a complex site.
• The role that Boston Dynamics Spot robot played in maximizing safety.
• Technical tips and tricks worth knowing for your own scanning missions.

Who should attend:

• Surveyors working on complex projects
• Site and asset managers who need to monitor plant or project changes
• Heritage specialists responsible for site preservation
• Anyone who is interested in Alcatraz

By registering you will receive a link to the recorded webinar, should you not be able to attend.

Please help us spread the news about this important educational event! Thank you.

Boston Dynamics Spot ground-based robot

Webinar Details:
Date: Wednesday 26th June 
Time: 11:00 AM ET// 5:00 PM CET // 1:00 am AEST (Thursday 27th)

Details

Date:
June 27
Time:
1:00 am UTC+10
Event Category: